The Village Obernbreit

»Obernbreit, a beautiful Franconian village on the Breitbach creek«
(Roman Herzog, former Federal President)

Agriculture and viticulture characterize the pretty village in the Breitbach valley in the "Vorsteigerwald" (Steigerwald forest rim). The long and eventful history of the village, which today has about 1800 inhabitants, begins with the settlements from the Bandkeramiker period (5000 BC) and the Hallstatt period (500 BC).

Obernbreit owes its origin and name to the crossing of the trade route Würzburg-Ochsenfurt-Nürnberg over the Breitbach (broitebrod = Slav. ford). First mentioned in a document in 1258 as a fief of the Counts of Castell, Obernbreit came to the Lords of Hohenlohe only 40 years later. In 1448, the Margrave of Ansbach acquired the six villages on the river Main (Obernbreit, Martinsheim, Gnodstadt, Oberickelsheim, Marktsteft and Sickershausen).

In the 16th century the cathedral chapter of Würzburg, the lords of Seinsheim, of Seckendorf and of Wallenfels-Lichtenstein, the Schwarzenbergs and the margraves of Ansbach shared the village lordship of Obernbreit. The Margrave's chief magistrates of Creglingen and Obernbreit (1607 - 1730) exercised jurisdiction over the six villages on the Main river.

The splendid Renaissance town hall (1610) and the magnificent official residences of the cathedral chapter, the Schwarzenbergs and the margraves of Ansbach still bear witness to the power and wealth of the three "great" village lords. They were the seat of the Schultheiße (mayors), who, appointed by the respective rulers as lords of the court and administrators of their property, jointly presided over the council meetings in Obernbreit. The magnificent Renaissance building of the town hall, erected in 1610 on the site of various previous buildings with the assistance of the stonemason and master builder Hans Kesenbrod from Segnitz, now houses the municipal administration, an information center and the meeting hall. The citizens' hall offers space for social and cultural events. With the reconstruction and renovation of the town hall in 2003, the community created a representative center for itself.

The baroque church of St. Burkard, built in 1731-1733, is dominated by a 38m high tower with a dome and lantern. The village church characterizes the silhouette of the market community Obernbreit and contains works of art worth seeing inside, including a sculpture of St. Boniface (ca. 1500), the high altar (1662), the Moses pulpit (1696) and the baptismal font (1635). The Marienkirche (Church of Mary), a modern building by the Würzburg diocesan architect Hans Schädel with a Stations of the Cross wall painting by Karl Clobes, is a successful example of church construction after World War II that is well worth seeing. Idyllic in the Steinbach valley, in the middle of the cemetery, 300m south of the village lies the St. Cross Chapel, first mentioned in a document in 1301, with epitaphs from the 16th and 17th centuries that are worth seeing.

The Jewish community of Oberbreit built a synagogue with a mikveh (ritual bath) in the middle of the 18th century, which was used until 1911. Starting in 2005, the synagogue and mikvah were transformed into a place of remembrance and commemoration. The market community of Obernbreit thankfully took over the sponsorship of the building a few years ago.

Since the 1980s, viticulture has also been practiced again in Obernbreit. There is currently one self-marketing vintner as well as several sideline vintners who supply the Franconian regional vintners' cooperative (GWF).

Das Dorf Obernbreit

»Obernbreit, ein schöner fränkischer Ort am Breitbach«
(Roman Herzog, ehem. Bundespräsident)

Landwirtschaft und Weinbau prägen das schmucke Dorf im Breitbachtal im »Vorsteigerwald«. Mit den Siedlungen aus der Bandkeramikzeit (5000 v. Chr.) und der Hallstattzeit (500 v. Chr.) beginnt die lange und wechselvolle Geschichte des Dorfes, das heute etwa 1800 Einwohner zählt.

Dem Übergang der Handelsstraße Würzburg–Ochsenfurt–Nürnberg über den Breitbach verdankt Obernbreit seinen Ursprung und Namen (broitebrod = slaw. Furt). Als Lehenbesitz der Grafen von Castell 1258 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt, kam Obernbreit bereits 40 Jahre später an die Herren von Hohenlohe. 1448 erwarb der Markgraf von Ansbach die sechs Maindörfer (Obernbreit, Martinsheim, Gnodstadt, Oberickelsheim, Marktsteft und Sickershausen).

Im 16. Jahrhundert teilten sich das Domstift zu Würzburg, die Herren von Seinsheim, von Seckendorf und von Wallenfels-Lichtenstein, die Schwarzenberger und die Markgrafen von Ansbach die Dorfherrschaft zu Obernbreit. Die markgräflichen Oberschultheißen zu Creglingen und zu Obernbreit (1607 – 1730) übten die Halsgerichtsbarkeit über die sechs Maindörfer aus.

Von der Macht und dem Reichtum der drei »großen« Dorfherrn zeugen noch heute das prächtige Renaissance-Rathaus (1610) und die prächtigen Amtshäuser des Domstifts, der Schwarzenberger und der Markgrafen von Ansbach. Sie waren der Sitz der Schultheiße, die, von der jeweiligen Herrschaft als Gerichtsherrn und Verwalter ihres Besitzes eingesetzt, bei den Ratssitzungen zu Obernbreit gemeinsam den Vorsitz führten. Im prächtigen Renaissancebau des Rathauses, am Platz verschiedener Vorgängerbauten unter Mitwirkung des Steinmetzes und Baumeisters Hans Kesenbrod aus Segnitz 1610 errichtet, sind heute die Gemeindeverwaltung, ein Informationszentrum und der Sitzungssaal untergebracht. Der Bürgersaal bietet Platz für gesellige und kulturelle Veranstaltungen. Mit dem Umbau und der Renovierung des Rathauses im Jahre 2003 schuf sich die Gemeinde ein repräsentatives Zentrum.

Die 1731–1733 errichtete barocke St. Burkardkirche überragt ein 38m hoher Turm mit Kuppel und Laterne. Die Dorfkirche prägt die Silhouette des Marktes Obernbreit und birgt in ihrem Innern sehenswerte Kunstwerke, u.a. eine Bonifatiusskulptur (ca. 1500), den Hochaltar (1662), die Moseskanzel (1696) und den Taufstein (1635). Die Marienkirche, ein moderner Bau des Würzburger Diözesanbaumeisters Hans Schädel mit einem Kreuzweg von Karl Clobes, ist ein gelungenes, sehenswertes Beispiel des Kirchenbaus nach dem 2. Weltkrieg. Idyllisch im Steinbachtal, inmitten des Friedhofes, 300m südlich des Dorfes liegt die 1301 erstmals urkundlich erwähnte Hl. Kreuzkapelle mit sehenswerten Epitaphien aus dem 16. und 17. Jahrhundert.

Die Oberbreiter Judengemeinde errichtete zur Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts eine Synagoge mit Mikwe (Ritualbad), die bis 1911 benutzt wurde. Ab 2005 wurden Synagoge und Mikwe zu einem Ort des Erinnerns und Gedenkens umgestaltet. Die Marktgemeinde Obernbreit hat vor einigen Jahren dankenswerterweise die Trägerschaft für das Gebäude übernommen.

Seit den 1980er Jahren wird in Obernbreit auch wieder Weinbau betrieben. Derzeit gibt es einen selbstvermarktenden Winzer sowie mehrere Nebenerwerbswinzer, die der Gebietswinzergenossenschaft Franken (GWF) zuliefern.